Planning on a Continental Scale…

Up until recently I have been predominantly interested in playing Dystopian Wars as a naval and air game.  I have my sea board, some island terrain pieces, other bits and bobs, and so I’m all set for any game set in those two theatres.

Recently however I have been collecting some ground forces for the Covenant, and some of the players in my area have been doing the same.  Land battles are on the horizon.

For pure land battles I have my GW gaming mat – a wonderful piece of kit that is basically a heavy 6x4ft table cloth covered in static grass style material (it is very durable).

But as fun as pure land might be, I want to be able to mix theatres, a combination of sea, air and land… it’s what Dystopian Wars is built to be able to do, and would allow for some wonderful story driven scenarios.

But how?  For the islands I made I used chunks of cork tiling, and was very happy with the results.  When I bought the cork, I purchased a pack of 6 1x1ft cork flooring tiles – 5 of them are sitting unused in my shed, so naturally these would make a good basis for the land I’m planning on building.

I want the land to be flexible – with 4 of the 1x1ft tiles dedicated to being land tiles, I can run a 1ft wide edge down my 4x4ft board, or I can run with two land masses separated by sea, or some big islands, or a mix of the above.  

The key question echoing about my mind is how to make the tiles, and right now I’m stuck between two choices: to build the tiles with terrain like forests and towns on them, or to make the tiles relatively blank, and make additional pieces, forest, town and so on, that I can use as drop ons.

Tiles will be used for the land mass, and an addition tile will be sliced up to create the coast line.

Tiles will be used for the land mass, and an addition tile will be sliced up to create the coast line.

So the choice…

To create tiles with built on terrain features...

To create tiles with built on terrain features…

Or to create blanks, and additional drop ons of forests, towns and so forth...

Or to create blanks, and additional drop ons of forests, towns and so forth…

To be honest I’m leaning toward the second option.  It seems to be a flexible structure, if I want a town I don’t have to use a specific tile, and the town could also be used in pure land games with my GW game mat.

So these are the plans… I have yet to decide which route I want to walk, but I’m leaning the second… hopefully the next few weeks will see some actual progress on the construction of these… you will read more on this later.

Cheers,

Giles.

5 thoughts on “Planning on a Continental Scale…

  1. Pingback: A foreign land… | Element270

Leave a Reply

